“THE BEGINNING” – Where it started and what are my goals! Why blog?

I will never forget it… I was sitting down after finally getting all my kids to sleep for their naps when I just began to cry hysterically, I was so exhausted and the day was not even half over and I just felt like instead of being 32 years old I was 90! I was 30 pounds over weight from baby number 3 and I felt as though there was no light at the end of the tunnel. I had been trying to lift weights and do some cardio here and there but I felt like I was getting nowhere, not to mention I did not enjoy lifting weights one bit.  Please do not take this to mean I have something against weight lifting, or I think it is a waste of time. I think it is excellent for you if you do it right and consistently, I was not doing either at the time. I do now work in weight lifting into my running routine which I am sure I will cover in another post!

At that point  of what I would call a breakdown, I knew something had to change. I had previously lost a lot of weight after baby number two and I began to ask myself how I accomplished this and the one thing that came to my mind… AdvoCare.  Now this blog is not dedicated to my life in AdvoCare, but It will be mentioned a lot throughout my blog because it is a big part of my life. It is a company that is dedicated to making people healthier and happier and it has done this for me twice in my life, so I am PROOF that it works. If you would like more information please email me. So it began, I started a 24-day challenge with AdvoCare and took a stance against my weight issue and my overall bad health and I never looked back!

One day during my challenge a group of girls asked me to go running with them. I knew that they were in WAY better shape than I was, I also knew that I probably would die, but I also knew that I wanted to make a lifestyle change and that would not happen if I did not get out of my comfort zone. I said yes to the challenge. That was the morning I realized my love for running. They took me a little over 3 miles and I huffed and puffed the whole way, but at the end of it I had this feeling, one I had not felt in a long time, a feeling of personal accomplishment!

Parenting is one of the most amazing things and I love being a mommy, but it is so easy to lose your personal “self” during the process. You are focused on other people all day every day.  Running gave me “me” back, and I began to not only feel like a mommy, but also a person again.  I started running more and more and begin to see not only a huge change in my body, but also a big change with my attitude. My husband noticed this huge change and was so happy to see the “Kim” he once knew. I smiled more, I laughed more, I enjoyed life more because I remembered what it was like to be a person.  I feel that running has made me a better wife, mother, and a better individual as a whole.  I have become closer to God as I have devoted my running to HIM. I wake up earlier and have more time for prayer because I have found this new energy. I can wake up at 5 a.m. to run, and still be awake at 8 p.m. to put the kids to bed! It has been so good for me and my family.

So here I am. I have run my first half marathon, slowly but I ran it. I have improved over the last 2 months and now it is time to start my official training and I have decided to blog about it for a couple of reasons:

1) I have gotten so many amazing people contacting me wanting to know how I got started, what my training strategies are, how I went from 1 mile to 13.1 miles and for many other reasons.  Truth is… I have no idea! I am not an expert AT ALL! I just did it. I didn’t do it fast, I didn’t run it in record time, but yes, I did it and now I want to help others do it too!   If I can accomplish this, than ANYONE CAN! So this time around I want to record every run and hopefully help others who feel like they have no idea what they are doing, feel confident enough to “just do it”! Whether you want to run 1 mile without stopping or run a full marathon, you can do it if you believe you can!

2) I want to one day show my kids this blog. I want them to know they can do anything they set their mind to and I hope this blog will inspire them in some way.

3) I think writing about things is therapeutic!  Even if no one reads it, I still can take comfort in just getting every bad and good run off my chest and file it away!

I promise one thing for sure… I will be completely honest. I will record as much as I can about every run along with diet information and things I find helpful. Remember, I am doing this on my own one day at a time and I am no expert. So I will fail from time to time, but I will run those 26.2 miles one way or another.

remember… you can “Do all things through Him”!

 

Leave a Reply

