WEEK TWO – is it over yet?

Week two did not start off the best and my motivation was minimal on Monday and Tuesday. I have a couple theories as to why; 1) The temperature increased by 15 degrees which makes a run seem longer and harder than usual.  I posted below an article that a friend posted on our running facebook page that actually made me feel better about my slower runs at the beginning of the week.  I did push through this as I refuse to train in a gym or on a treadmill, I do not feel like you get the same kind of training on a treadmill as you do on an open road. (Please remember I am no expert, this is just how I feel).

2)  Previously before I started Hal’s training method, I ran my longer runs on Friday or Saturday and my rest day was Sunday. I loved this because it always gave me one day off on the weekend to enjoy with my family, and there is something liberating about starting your weekend off with a long run early Saturday morning, and in the back of your mind you know you are off for the rest of the weekend. Hal’s training is a bit different and he has you resting on Friday after short runs Monday through Thursday, and then long runs Saturday and Sunday and getting right back to it on Monday. I feel like Monday came around and it was hard to jump right back into it after 10 miles on Sunday. So this week I am changing it up and going back to resting on Sunday. Hal says in his training that you can do this if you would like, the most important thing is to get the miles in.

3) I was lazy. Yep, I said it, we all go through it even though we do not like to admit it. I was not feeling like running, I was grumpy, I was not eating right, I was just lazy.  Here is what I do when this happens, I remember these feelings do NOT come from God. I surround myself with positive people, for example I went for a walk with a friend who is so spiritual and who I knew could push me back on track.  This goes back to my point that in order to get to any goal, you must have positive people surrounding yourself everyday.  There is not room for negativity and if someone is being negative towards you and your dreams they do not need to be apart of them.  No matter what your goals are, no matter who you are, you are special and everyone in your life should feel that way.  So I snapped out of it and I am feeling pretty good about the last few days of training.

I am done with my ranting and now moving on, The training program I have selected does not necessarily work in strength directly, he says there is simply no time in his instructions but if you want to work it in you can as long as it does not negatively affect your running. So this brought me to a dilemma that I am still unsure of the correct solution; Should I add in strength training? During my half I did not do a lot of other exercising except for running. I honestly am not very good at it, and I really do not enjoy it. (Again personal preference).  However, I have talked to so many runners who say if you want to improve, you have to do some sort of weight training in order to do so.   So for now this is my decision, I am going to a class 2 times a week in the morning at 5 a.m. that is dedicated to muscle strengthening. I have been to these classes in the past and enjoyed them and most of my running friends go as well. They do a lot of stations working all different muscle groups and they work you, HARD. After class I will also run, at least 3 miles, this week I ran 4. This is to not only still get in my required miles for the week, but also to continue to train my legs how to still run even when they are tired. Let’s face it, you will not run 26.2 miles without your legs yelling at you, at least I won’t.

Results from the first week of this, I am SO sore! my arms especially and it does make it hard to run, but it also feels really good to be sore and I can feel my body getting stronger. The runs after class are miserable! You feel like you are running with weights.  It I am sure will slow my speed down for the rest of the week for the first couple of weeks, however I think it will have a very positive effect on my running long term!

I also have had some issues getting used to my new body that seems to be forming just from these first 2 weeks of training as I am building muscle, more muscle, and more muscle. I stepped on the scale yesterday, BIG MISTAKE. I probably will not step on it again until it is done. I am gaining weight, my close are fitting tighter, but I also know it is all muscle. So this has been hard to train my mind to not worry about the food I have to stuff in my mouth every two hours to make sure I can make it through another 5 miles, but day by day it seems to be getting easier. My diet is staying steady around 2300 calories, and I am still researching everyday to make sure I am doing the right thing for me. The internet is a powerful source. The fun thing is getting to come up with creative healthy new meals! new obsession = Protein ice cream. Blend 2 tbsp PB 2 , 1 banana, 1 scoop of your favorite protein powder (mine is muscle gain by AdvoCare), about 1/4 cup of water, and some ice. Freeze over night. Let it thaw out for 10-15 minutes before eating and top with some almonds and dark chocolate chips, AMAZING!

PB2 & BANANA PROTEIN ICE CREAM WITH VEGAN CHOCOLATE CHIPS & RAW COCONUT SHREDS! YUMMMM!!!

Today is my first day of Tempo training. I will blog tomorrow about what in consists of and how it went! Thanks again for reading…

 

RUN ON!

Here is that article on outside temps!

http://www.over40runner.com/info/RunningInTheHeat.html

 

Leave a Reply

