Run Like Poebe!

                                 tumblr_mlz628ocOk1s9grffo1_500

 

Last weeks training ended well with my longest run of 15 miles. I started around a 9.30 pace and ended around a 9.40 so I was very pleased. I am even more pleased at how well this week’s training started out… STRONG! I decided this week to increase the amount of strength training I was doing, not only to help with the way my body looks, but to make me stronger in general. It started when I asked an experienced runner about my posture when running, as I tend to slouch my back when I get tired. She suggested more upper body strength training and also some yoga workouts. So that is just what I have started this week by adding PiYo workouts. These are new workouts brought to you by Beach Body and they are great. I have yet to get through them all, but I can tell you my core is feeling great. Not only do I already notice a difference in my body but what it is doing to my running is AMAZING! Hill training yesterday with Chad was probably the best run of my life. I felt so strong! At one point he said, “holy cow what speed are we running at?!” We had increased our speed by a minute and this was after about 4 miles of intense hills. I feel so good! I had tons of doubts last week and was feeling like maybe I had taken on too much for my body to handle, it is not the case this week and I am confident in my running. I am just so pumped up!

On a personal level I feel like I have learned so much about myself in the last week and I feel stronger as a person as well. I started talking to some people in my life who I know support me and love me, I reached out to the people that I know will never judge me and always have my back! My sister Sara just really said some things that have just really allowed me to feel at peace. We were talking about negative people in our lives and how you overcome harsh words and actions and she said this, “I ask God to take it.” She said that she just cannot even deal with it because it just stresses her out, which is what I was doing. I was constantly thinking about that one bad comment someone made and it was just weighing on me and making me feel so weak. I cried all the time about it. After Sara and I’s conversation I decided to do the same. I sat down and prayed and just told God I couldn’t handle it anymore and I just needed to give all these things to Him and I thanked Him for allowing me to do so. Since then I have prayed everyday, I keep my prayer book in my hand and I read it over and over. Every time a negative thought gets into my head, I start having doubts, I start thinking I should quit, I just give it all to him. I talk to HIM constantly, sometimes even out loud. When I start worrying about anything, I pray.

This constant prayer has not only helped with the negative but it has just made me feel free. It has helped me in general just be a positive person. I think if you would ask Chad he would say there has been a change in me this week. It is like that excited feeling when you get a new purse or pair of shoes, but instead of items, the feeling is coming from the Lord. I keep asking myself why I am so happy this week, what has changed? We do not have anymore money than we had last week, I didn’t go on a trip, I still am working my tail off at a job that is so tough, I still have all the stress from last week, but this week I have someone by my side through it all, and I can feel HIM right next to me everyday.

Sorry to rant and rave but I am just loving this new feeling… I feel like running like Phoebe from friends sometimes. LOL!

I also am trying out some new things with cooking and just experimenting with different things. Making lots of good homemade things and just made some great new cookie bars. I got the recipe from a friend off instagram and kind of made it my own. Recipe below. It is great if you are needing a little, ok a lot, of something sweet! I am starting to figure out my diet, what I need to eat the days of a big run, water intake, etc. I do not count calories anymore nor weigh myself, I just take it day by day.

I have a short run tonight, then 6 miles sprint work tomorrow which I am doing with Chad, a 7 mile run on Friday, long run on Saturday and I might just run a quick 3 on Sunday. Monday I ran 5 and yesterday 6 so total I am just hoping maybe over 40 miles total this week. My long run I am hoping for 16, I am trying to increase by one mile every week. Again, this is not exactly what the training is telling me, this is combining the training program with my own ideas. As my long runs get longer I feel like they take up a lot of time so I am hoping to start earlier (4 AM), in order to still make it home for our regular donut run with my kiddos. Last weekend I overslept and starting at 7 was not a lot of fun. I do not like to take away from the special family runs. However, on the way to get donuts they brought me fresh water and a banana so that was nice. Love my family.

So as I move forward I am only focusing on the positive people in my life, the Lord first. I am pouring all my energy into them, my training, and my work and letting everything else go! And you know what… I might even run like Phoebe just one time! 🙂 !

 

Thanks for reading guys and like always,

RUN ON!

http://paleomg.com/raw-chocolate-chip-cheesecake-bars/ – here is the site for the recipes for those bars I was talking about! They are SOOO good. A couple things I did differently just because I wanted to use what I had. I did not have coconut butter but I did have Earth Balance natural butter spread. So instead of the coconut butter, I substituted with 1/2 cup of the natural spread and 1/2 of… you know it… Natural peanut butter. YUM! They were SO good and taste like a peanut butter cup! My husband even approved.

photo 2   photo 3  

 

photo 5    photo 4   photo 1

Leave a Reply

